The Kate Moss Effect

Before celebs graced the cover of fashion magazines, there were SUPERMODELS. I grew up with Christie Brinkley, Cheryl Tiegs, Cindy Crawford, Claudia Schiffer, Naomi Campbell and Christy Turlington- just to name a few! George Michael’s Freedom music video made it cool to lip synch. Man, that was a great video…

freedomvideo-tmAnd then there was Kate Moss. Shorter than the average model at only 5’7”, her entry into the modeling world provoked the “heroin chic”era in fashion.  Am I mildly obsessed? Maybe. My body is just not built to be waify, but I know millions of girls who probably starve themselves to get that way. I digress.

article-1081231-020293BE000004B0-959_468x332

In Topshop’s Inside-Out, the question asked is “How Has Kate Moss Inspired Your Style?” I had to think about it for a long while because she has influenced me in more than one way, I think!

1. I tried to live her lifestyle by emulating her hair style. In the image above, she has these grown out looking bangs that I sported for a good year. The bangs also morphed me into “Party Joy.” She no longer exists.

Kate-Moss-festival-sign

2. Festival Queen. Short shorts. Need I say more?

3. Grunge to glam.

One things for sure. Kate Moss was a muse to us all at some point in time whether you like it or not. She has left her mark with some fabulous moments in fashion history. I can’t wait to see her latest line for Topshop.

Leave a Reply

