Oscars 2014 : Red Carpet Trends and Styles I Adored

I’m a little late to the Oscar fashion reviews, but I wanted to point out things I noticed after mulling over the red carpet photos… That’s why it took me such a long time to curate this post!

Color schemes- I feel like all of the celebrity stylists had a little pow wow to decide what colors would dominate the evening. Hues of blue were most popular while I also noticed variations of cream, nude, green reds, light pink, metallics galore and monochrome. There was not a lack in black either.  Julia’s lace peplum dress by Givenchy was very different from the rest because of the texture. A lot of people hated it because of the lace panel insert, but whateves. She looked good to me!

Jewelry and accessories in general weren’t heavily utilized. Jennifer Lawrence wore a backwards necklace again, which really keeps her look youthful. I thought Naomi Watt’s neck piece was pretty, while Cate Blanchett’s Armani dress was covered head to toe in Swarovski crystals. Those earrings were a great match!

Here are a few of my favs…

Pictures from afar do not do this dress any justice! Since the Golden Globes, Lupita has earned a lot of red carpet buzz. This dress was made specifically for her by Prada and screams Cinderella. The crystal details are exquisite!  Hear Macaela Erlanger (Lupita’s stylist) reveal some style secrets here

Lupita in Prada

Lupita in Prada

You can tell that she was ultra comfortable in this dress. I love the movement of the fabric. It reminds me of my wedding dress!

Twirling

Twirling

Angelina shines in this sheer metallic sheath. I’m glad she decided to ditch the black this year. She was glowing and appeared so happy and full of life.

x701

Angelina in Elie Saab

Simple done right. Despite what critics said about Amy Adam’s dress, I thought it looked stunning in this photograph. I like that she kept her hair up to show off her neckline.

x702

Amy in Gucci

Old Hollywood glam! I thought Sandra Bullock looked graceful despite the fact that she chose such a muted color. Keeping it simple with minimal jewelry was the right thing to do.

x703

Sandra in Alexander McQueen

Leave a Reply

