Home Sweet Home

I have met a lot of people who made the move to Oklahoma for various reasons. Some had no choice because of work obligations while others needed a change of scenery. I have even met people who moved here for love. For me personally, moving to another state was tough. Tough in the sense that I thought the adjustment process would not be this difficult. The people are nice and the cost of living is low, but now that I’ve lived here for a year and some months I am still having issues calling this place home.

Even though I have soon to be in-laws about 25 minutes away, I miss my family like crazy.  I don’t talk to my parents every single week, but I used to see them once or twice a month while living in San Diego. Family gatherings were a big deal and there was always an excuse to get together. That dynamic might be what I’m missing here, though I try to fill in the gaps by hosting pot lucks with friends, going to social events through Meetup or Yelp and having dinner with Tim’s parents.

By nature I am a very shy and quiet person. I find that this personality trait shows through more often at my 9 – 5 because I am more reserved around my co-workers. They welcomed me with open arms and included me in the daily lunch crew. In the beginning I would go out to eat all the time. I gained the VI 15! In an effort to get back into shape, I started bringing my lunch and ramped up my exercise routine. Now, I refrain from socializing and opt to stay home and work out instead of exploring the city. I’m trying to be less of a homebody, but Mother Nature and her Oklahoma mood swings  wins all the time.

The weather? Terrible. It’s either way too hot or way too cold. Oh, and how could I forget tornado season! It rolls around my birth month. This girl cannot wrap her finger around driving through snow, ice and flooded streets. In the summertime the heat creeps up and bites you in the butt. You cannot compare it to the summers in Vegas, that’s for sure. While I appreciate experiencing the seasons…. It makes me yearn to move back to California more and more each day.

So there. These are my thoughts. I didn’t shell out all of my feelings, but at least I’ve come to terms with the fact that I really miss home and home is California.

Leave a Reply

