Invisible Children Foundation

I majored in Humanities from San Diego State University and graduated in 2005. Many people mistaken Humanities with “Humanitarian” so let me clarify: The Free Dictionary by Farlex says Humanities is a. The languages and literatures of ancient Greece and Rome; the classics. b. Those branches of knowledge, such as philosophy, literature, and art, that are concerned with human thought and culture; the liberal arts. Websters Dictionary quotes a Humanitarian as a person promoting human welfare and social reform : philanthropist.

My dad once told me that (not so much in these words), but you can make all the money in the world, but what good will that be if you do not give back to the community. That still haunts me today. People ask me why I work for free and put so much time and effort into something that might not even come into fruition (that’s my side business). In all honesty I do my side work because it makes me feel good! Small businesses are struggling the most in this economy and non profit organizations are no different. Sure they may receive donations here and there… But what about all those that work so hard at the non profit agencies. Give credit where credit is due!  Being a philanthropist has been incredibly rewarding because I meet AMAZING people who share the same drive and determination that I have.

Why bring this up and how does this have anything to do with being unique and chic???? WELL let me tell you about an organization that is bringing chicness to a whole new level!!!! Invisible Children is a non profit org based in downtown San Diego. I had the pleasure of meeting with Brianna Remington who is a Business Admin Assistant traveling to Uganda this summer (When I met her she was telling me about all the shots she had to take prior to her trip. NUTS!) Brianna took me through an amazing tour of Invisible Children’s work place and showed me a few fashionable projects. One is their program called MEND. The program enables displaced woman in Uganda an opportunity to hand seam bags using materials sourced from their country. They are sold online and are really very fashionable and unique!!!

Then there is a bracelet program where each different color represents a different child living in Uganda. The bracelets are hand made and and hand dyed. When you purchase a bracelet, it is accompanied with a DVD telling the story of the displaced child the bracelet represents.

You can check out the Invisible Children store to purchase any of these products! http://store.invisiblechildren.com/

If you would like to see these pieces in person, I am producing a Summer Shopping Soiree on the rooftop of the gorgeous Andaz Hotel June 23, 2010 from 6pm-10pm. The show is benefiting Invisible Children and will feature MEND. There will be music, shopping, drinks, and fun. A donation of $15.00 will get you in the door for a complimentary cocktail and hor’dvores from the Andaz Kitchen. For more information http://www.benchmarkemail.com/c/v?9tSN8Jgb1CbSUW6JJrEim5yv+vZEk8nqNyIeD9VsXLU=

HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE!!!

Leave a Reply

